A Case of the Mondays

Today I am feeling less than motivated.

Although I work from home, I still try to have my body out of bed by 6:30 or 7. I think it helps with productivity, and I just feel better when I’m in a routine. Structuring my work life this way means I still get the Mondays sometimes—especially after a long weekend or a holiday when I’ve been eating things that don’t make me feel awesome, drinking too much, and staying up late. That sentence pretty much sums up my Thanksgiving: deep fried turkey and cornbread dressing, pumpkin pie with a real crust, and drinking games into the early morning.

turmeric tea

Here’s what I’m doing this week to counteract the negative effects of the not great choices I made over the past several days:

Setting a few very achievable goals and tackling them one-by-one. For example, my To Do list today actually included “work out,” “shower,” and “blog post.” Check, check, and check.

Sticking pretty closely to Whole 30 style eating for a while—though I may have an occasional glass of wine. I’m especially focusing on eating something other than pumpkin pie for breakfast. Today I had Against All Grain’s Roast Chicken Soup with Roasted Vegetables, which I made with leftover turkey and bone broth.

Starting a new 30 day workout plan. I pretty much do yoga and yard work for exercise, but lately I’ve been looking for something a little more challenging. Aside from the first video, I’ve never done HIIT (high intensity interval training) before, so we’ll see how this goes. So far: ouch.

Sipping lots of bone broth and turmeric tea.1 In my last Friday Faves post I mentioned I’ve been drinking this tea, and I’ve found it to be really great for bringing clarity and focus. As far as herbs and natural remedies go, turmeric is pretty universally regarded as beneficial for a host of ailments. It has been shown to support the liver (can I get an amen?), inhibit the spread of skin and breast cancer cells and make them more vulnerable to chemo and radiotheraphy, and maybe even lower Alzheimer rates in India. It’s super anti-inflammatory (which my body needs after all those grains and vegetable oil).

In case you, like me, could use all the help you can get this week, I’m including my recipe for turmeric tea. I came across the idea a while ago at Mark’s Daily Apple, and based on my preferences and what I read in the comments, I’ve landed on the following recipe:

Turmeric Tea

1/2 cup coconut milk (full fat, canned)
1/2 cup filtered water

1/2 tsp turmeric (heaping)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1″ piece of ginger, minced
a dash of black pepper2
honey to taste (preferably raw & local)

Combine the coconut milk and water in a saucepan and bring to a simmer (almost boiling, but not quite) over medium heat. In the meantime, throw the remaining ingredients into a large mug. Once the milk mixture is simmering, pour a little into your mug and swirl/stir to dissolve the ingredients. Once combined, add the remaining milk and enjoy.

Notes

1. Also, alliterating apparently.

2. The piperine in black pepper activates the curcumin in turmeric and increases its effectiveness. Yay!

One thought on “A Case of the Mondays

  1. Pingback: Friday Faves: Spring Skin Edition | D is for Delicate

Leave a Reply

